The Section held its Spring Meeting on Monday, March 20 at Eagle Eye Golf Club with over 180 members and associates in attendance.

President Dean Kolstad welcomed special guests Nathan Charnes, PGA of America Secretary, Stacey Rice-Dorman, Player Engagement Consultant, Todd Smith, Career Services Consultant, and any past Presidents in attendance.

THANK YOU to Golf League Guru and Pepsi for sponsoring the meeting.

Past President, Kevin McKinley, delivered the invocation remembering deceased Michigan PGA member, Bob Ackerman, former Michigan PGA member, Tom Vanderplow, long time accountant, Bob Scheuer, long time sponsor, Steve Rentschler of Sterling Cut Glass, PGA of America past presidents, Patrick Reilly and Dick Smith, and the first Folds of Honor Scholarship Recipient, Jacob Green.

Vice President Stephanie Jennings, along with Executive Director Kevin Helm, reviewed the Section’s investments as well as year-end financials.

Secretary Dan Urban acknowledged and welcomed newly elected/transferred members.

Executive Director Kevin Helm thanked the staff for their hard work and dedication to the membership.

Tournament Chair Jeff Rachar reviewed the items for the 2023 season.

Special Awards Chair Doug Brody announced the 2023 Special Awards winners as well as National Winners:

Assistant Professional of the Year- Tiffany Simons, PGA
Bill Strausbaugh- Mark Wilson, PGA
Distinguished Service Award- John Celestino
Merchandiser of the Year-Private- Kyle Horton, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year-Public- Dean Marks, PGA
Merchandiser of the Year-Resort- Steve Niezgoda, PGA
Patriot Award- Ian Ziska, PGA
Player Development- Jimmy Wisinski, PGA
Professional Development- Charley Vandenberg, PGA
Youth Player Development- Raquel Bryant, PGA
Teacher & Coach of the Year- Scott Wilson, PGA
Golf Executive of the Year- Dean Kolstad, PGA
Golf Professional of the Year- Doug Bell, PGA
PGA of America Golf Executive of the Year- Bernie Friedrich, PGA
PGA of America Merchandiser of the Year-Public- Ian Ziska, PGA

They will be honored at the President’s Dinner on October 22nd.

The second portion of the meeting then went into a town hall format with Executive Director Kevin Helm talking with Dean Kolstad and PGA of America Secretary, Nathan Charnes.

Business discussions included information from Career Services Consultant, Todd Smith, and Player Engagement Consultant, Stacey Rice-Dorman.

Growth of the Game Chair, Scott Wilson, then recognized the Youth Grant Program of the Year Award to Nicolas Thompson, and Adult Grant Program of the Year to Alec Grant.

The meeting concluded with a raffle drawing where various prices were given out to the members and associates. Prizes included hockey jerseys from the Charity Hockey Game and Michigan PGA branded items.

The Education Seminar took place on Monday afternoon from Clinical and Sports Psychologist, Dr. Bhrett McCabe. McCabe is a trusted resource for amateur, collegiate and professional golfers on the PGA, LPGA, and Korn Ferry Tours. He talked about the pressure that golfers can be under and how teaching professionals can help manage the mentality of their students.

We would like to thank Dr. Bhrett McCabe for taking the time to speak at the educational seminar.