

Michigan Section PGA Board of Directors Meeting Special Awards Committee Report - March 14-15, 2022

Committee members involved in the special awards process for the 2022 cycle include: Patrick Markley (Chair), Scott Wilson, Greg Babinec, Brian Sanderson, Jeremy Lathwell, Doug Brody, Patrick Hagerty, Matt Flaherty and Matt Swan, and Kelly Sivier. Anna Epkey from the Section Office was also present for these interviews.

- The committee held our annual special awards interviews on January 11th-13th, 2022 and again on January 20th.
- Prior to the interviews the committee discussed the proposals that were given to the Board of Directors in December 2021 and approved by the board as follows:
 - Approved 10- year provision for Golf Professional of the Year and Bill Strausbaugh Awards, to align with the National Award winner.
 - Move the notification of our winners to the spring. Actual awards ceremony and plaque distribution for our 2022 winners will still occur at the Presidents Dinner and Fall meeting.
- This year the committee interviewed 30 finalists using Zoom conference calls with 30 minutes allotted for interviews and 45 minutes for Golf Professional of the Year and Teacher of the Year. We had a total of 108 nominees with 70 individuals submitting bios and over 3,000 member views to such candidate bios.
- Interviews were not needed for our Distinguished Service Award Winner, which the committee selected Doug
 Dingwall for his outstanding contributions to the MIPGA and Senior Chapter. Our Deacon Palmer Award nominee for
 the National Award was Mike Fay. Mike gave an excellent presentation to the committee outlining health obstacles
 and adversity he faced over the years despite unbelievable contributions he makes to our Association, MIPGA, fellow
 PGA Members and his facility. The entire committee was truly thankful and impressed.
- Select finalists for the National Awards process will be given soon, as we await word from National on the schedule and timeline moving forward.
- Our committee has one recommendation to the Board of Directors. We would like added funds in our budget to be
 used for media communications to highlight and display our Golf Professional of the Year, Teacher of the Year and
 Player of the Year for 2022. All other award winners will continue to be recognized in the fashion we currently use for
 social media and online communications, which we are thankful for Anna Epkey's involvement.
- The following individuals are our MI Section PGA award winners for 2022:

Assistant Professional of the Year – Lauren Strong, Forest Dunes

Bill Strausbaugh - Doug Kreis, Battle Creek CC

Distinguished Service Award – Doug Dingwall

Executive of the Year - Kevin McKinley, Treetops Resort

Golf Professional of the Year - Jeff O'Malley, Pilgrim's Run

Merchandiser of the Year Private – Kyle Horton, Kalamazoo CC

Merchandiser of the Year Public - Ian Ziska, American Dunes

Merchandiser of the Year Resort - Gary Lewandowski, Tullymore and St. Ives

Patriot Golf - Doug Bell, American Dunes

Player Development - Kelly Kuhlman, Twin Lakes and Red Run GC

Professional Development – John Lindert, CC of Lansing

Teacher of the Year - Brian Cairns, Fox Hills

Youth Player Development - Rolla Frisinger, Foundation Golf Center/Callaway Meijer Junior Tour

Report submitted by Patrick Markley